2016 IMLP Training – WEEK 20

WEEK 20 – May 9, 2016 – May 15, 2016

Well, I have reached the end of another week of training, but it was not without its imperfections.  Stuff happens, and it certainly was an interesting week.

First of all, what a crappy weather week.  Basically rainy and 50 degrees for most of the week, which is somewhat unusual temperature-wise for northern Illinois.  I hit the trainer and treadmill for most of the weekday workouts.

The swims were interesting as well.  As the school year winds down, I noticed for the past few weeks that the freshman classes that are required to take swimming must have all gotten through the program because I had the pool pretty much to myself.  (The school dedicates two lanes for Adult Community swimmers, and the kids swim in the deep end.)  But I forgot that as we reach the end of the year, they let any class that wants some pool time to come an goof around.  That means kids doing cannonballs off the spring board, football wannabes tossing a football around and tackling each other, water polo balls flying into my lane, etc.  Makes for an interesting swim.

An update for my pool situation – I ordered a new liner to replace the ripped one, so I anticipate it being open sometime mid-June, hopefully because I believe my wife has a graduation party scheduled for the end of June.  Yikes!  I saw a duck in there this morning.

I had to cut short Friday’s workout so I could go watch my son run at least one track meet this year.  I picked up Grandpa and off we went to Wartburg College in Waverly, Iowa to watch him run his event, the Steeplechase.  4.5 hours of driving there.  9:55 minutes of him running.  4.5 hours driving back.  Very proud of him though.  He set a personal record by 15 seconds or so, and finished 8th in the race which earned a point for his team, Loras College.

IMG_3090
The lad doing his thing.  Interesting race, the steeplechase.  Of course it rained.

Saturday was another day that I had to make some changes.  A family acquaintance passed away and I attended the funeral.  Good man, raised good kids, and went above and beyond serving his community as a board member of the high schools.

So I did about a third of the biking that was in the plan for Saturday, and did another 2.5 hours on Sunday.  Which meant Sunday’s long run took a hit.  I will move it to tomorrow, which is normally a rest day.  Two hour run.  That’s something to look forward to.

The Week 11-20 Build phase totals up to the following:

  • Swims: – 19 total, 18.5 total hours, 115,800 total yards
  • Bikes: – 38 total, 53:45 total hours, 850 total miles
  • Runs: – 70 total, 45.5 total hours, 324 total miles

WEEK 20 TOTALS:

Swims: 2 total, 2:20 hours, 6800 yards

Bikes: 3 total, 4:45 hours, 77.75 miles

Runs: 7 total, 2.8 hours, 24.75 miles

Unknown-4
The build phase is over.  Uh oh.  

 

 

Author: Ironman Chris

Family, running, triathlon and drumming are my things.

Leave a Reply

