Yay! Vacation!

IRONMAN LOUISVILLE 2017 TRAINING

WEEK 16 – July 3 > July 9

With the crazy schedules we tend to have, we finally got to have a vacation!  Not a full week worth, mind you.  No, that would be what regular people do.  But it was almost a full week!  July 4th fell on a Tuesday, and since Rebecca is in the marching band, we are required to be in town for the parade.  But as soon as it was over, we jumped in the car and headed north to our new favorite spot, our lake home in Minocqua, Wisconsin.

I took a photo of my training plan from the book I follow and made sure I knew what I had to do for the week.  Fortunately, the workouts were pretty easy this week, and I made sure to get them out of the way early so I could enjoy the family and the water while on vacation.

I was able to do an open water swim with my wetsuit in Lake Minocqua and it went well.  Kari paddled along side me in a kayak, and I found myself swimming at a nice and easy pace.  I made it down along the shoreline about 0.8 mile before turning around.  The swim ended up being about 1.67 miles according to my Garmin 910XT watch, which is about 2950 yards.  It took me an hour to do the swim.  I felt like I was struggling strength-wise, fighting the wetsuit somewhat.  After finishing, I was pretty sore.  I complained about it later, because I tend to complain.  Kari wisely pointed out that I had been water skiing the day before.  That was an aha! moment.

fullsizeoutput_f0f9
It may look like I know what I am doing, but sadly I do not.

The three hour long bike ride followed by a 30 minute run also went very well.  I took to the Bearskin Trail and rode it farther south than I ever have.  I really like the trail.  Lots of greenery and beautiful things to see.  I didn’t see any bears though.  Or any bear skins for that matter.

IMG_6517
Rails to Trails paths may be the greatest repurposing ever.

I ended the weekend with a solid 1.5 hour run on the trail as well.  Nice cool weather for training.  Next week it will be back to the grind in good old Mokena.

TOTALS:

2 Swims – 4350 yards this week / 48250 yards total

3 Bikes – 70 miles this week / 9213 miles total

7 Runs – 35 miles this week / 464 miles total

Gunners-2-1
Refreshed and ready for more
Author: Ironman Chris

Family, running, triathlon and drumming are my things.

Leave a Reply

